Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Winners of the ISH travel awards

We have received 19 excellent submissions for the ISH travel awards to our congress in Peru. The awards were spread among the following seven winners:

1st prizes (1000 US$ plus registration waiver)

Rebecca Kittel (University of Adelaide): "Phylogenetics and biogeography of chelonine wasps (Hymenoptera: Braconidae) based on a fossil calibrated multigene analysis"

Petr Jansta (Charles University, Prague): "Molecular phylogeny and evolution of the family Torymidae (Hymenoptera: Chalcidoidea) - are Torymidae really monophyletic?"

2nd prizes (500 US$ plus registration waiver)

Crystal McEwen (University of Maryland): "Progress in the revision of Disholcaspis Dalla Torre and Kieffer"

Bernardo Santos (American Museum of Natural History): "On the road to a total evidence phylogeny of cryptine wasps (Ichneumonidae, Cryptinae)"

Erika Tucker (University of Kentucky): "An updated phylogenetic analysis of Cremnops (Hymenoptera: Braconidae) incorporating the minibarcode region of COI"

3rd prizes (registration waiver)

Mabel Alvarado (University of Kansas): "Revision of the South American wasp genus Alophophion (Hymenoptera: Ichneumonidae: Ophioninae)"

Candice Owen (Rhodes University): "Wingless wasps in the water -What?!?"

Congratulations to all winners!